California legislation mandates that all employers who employ 50 or more persons must provide two hours of training in the prevention of sexual harassment every two years to California supervisors. The AB 1825 supervisory training is required of supervisory staff and faculty. As such, they are given preferential enrollment.
While non-supervisory staff and students are not mandated to attend such training, there are additional courses available for such audiences that wish to increase their awareness of this topic and learn of available campus resources. If room is available in the AB 1825 Supervisory Training, a non-supervisory staff member or student may enroll in the course with the approval of the TIX/SHPC Senior Sexual Harassment & Diversity Education Analyst.
Those who are required to take the mandated AB1825 sexual harassment prevention training are sent an email with a unique personal link for the online training. This link identifies the user and gives credit for completion of the course.
If you misplace your personal link, you can log into the UC Learning Center and select "e-course" on the schedule of AB1825 trainings. This will connect you to the online training.
If you do not receive a personal link for the online AB1825 sexual harassment prevention training and your job responsibilities include supervising student workers or other staff, you can log into the Learning Management System (hyperlink) and select "e-course" on the schedule of AB1825 trainings. You may also contact the Senior Sexual Harassment and Diversity Education Analyst if you have questions or need assistance in accessing the Learning Management System.
When you have completed the online training, please print your certificate and keep it for your records
You can also register for an instructor-led training (ILT) using your UCSBnetID and password at the UC Learning Center. Upon successful registration, you will receive an e-mail confirming your registration and later an electronic reminder.
Should I take the training online or in person?
The choice is yours. Many individuals choose to complete the training online because they have a difficult time fitting the two-hour instructor-led training in their schedule. Others choose to participate in an instructor-led training for the face-to-face interaction.
How will I know if I am required to take the AB 1825 sexual harassment prevention training?
Individuals required to take the training will receive an e-mail 90 days prior to their training due date. Reminder e-mails are also sent 60-, 30- and 7-days before the training due date. Each of these e-mails will have your personal link for accessing the online sexual harassment prevention training.
Who is considered a supervisor for AB 1825 training?
The California Fair Employment & Housing Act (FEHA) defines supervisor as any individual having the authority to “hire, transfer, suspend, lay off, recall, promote, discharge, assign, reward, or discipline other employees, or the responsibility to direct them, or to adjust their grievances or effectively to recommend that action…if the exercise of that authority is not of a merely routine or clerical nature, but requires the use of independent judgment.”
Will I get a certificate of completion?
There is no certificate of completion at the conclusion of the training. Once you have completed the online training, you will receive an email confirming completion of the AB1825 Training. The Learning Management System will also have an electronic record of your completion date.